Showing posts with label weather. Show all posts
Showing posts with label weather. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Winter Storm???

Up to 16 inches of snow predicted Wednesday in St. Lawrence County



Monday, January 31, 2011 - 2:40 pm

The area may have dodged two recent major snow storms, but it would appear our luck is up.

The National Weather Service has issued a winter storm watch, which stays in effect Tuesday evening through late Wednesday night in the North Country.

The storm, which is already blasting the Midwest, promises to bring heavy snow to the region, perhaps 8 to 16 inches, according to NWS.

They predict the snow will begin late Tuesday night and end early Thursday morning.

The heaviest snow will fall during the daytime hours on Wednesday.

Hazardous travel can be expected Tuesday night through Wednesday night, NWS reports.

Winds will be northeast at 5 to 10 mph.

Temperatures will rise from today’s frigid blast with highs 15 to 25. Lows will be -5 to 10 above.

Visibility is predicted to be 1/4 mile or less at times during the daytime hours on Wednesday.

According to NWS, a Winter Storm Watch means there is a potential for significant snow that may impact travel.

Well, does this mean, we can believe the weather forecast this go around?  I suspect we can and should.  My sister, who planned to visit called to say, "no way am I gonna drive in this crap."  Syracuse is all ready getting hit and they know more is on the way.  As for us, we get snow, then some wind and then, nothing but cold temps.  However, if we believe the weather forecast, the snow shall hit later tonight and Wednesday -- lovely!!!


And the geese just snuggle on down and enjoy the weather...are they nuts or what?

Monday, December 13, 2010

And it Begins


... Winter Weather Advisory remains in effect from 1 PM this
afternoon to 10 am EST Tuesday...



The National Weather Service in Burlington continues the Winter
Weather Advisory... from 1 PM this afternoon to 10 am EST Tuesday.



* Locations... northern Adirondacks and St. Lawrence Valley of New York.

* Hazard types... snow and falling temperatures.

* Accumulations... 2 to 6 inches with highest amounts in the
northern Adirondacks.


* Timing... periods of snow are expected through Tuesday morning
with the greatest concentration expected tonight.

* Impacts... periods of snow and rapid freezing of any standing water
will occur and result in slippery Road conditions... especially
for the evening commute. Periods of snow tonight will result in
snow covered roadways and low visibility at times. Travel will
be potentially hazardous.



* Winds... west 5 to 15 mph with gusts up to 20 mph.



* Temperatures... early highs in the lower 30s. Lows around 10
above.
Precautionary/preparedness actions...

*&^%$(*)*&

What is truly sad is that folks will hear and read about this advisory and then, get in their cars and drive into town or out-of-area and bitch because roads conditions are horrible. And later on, sit around and tell folks about how they "braved" the bad weather to go get some stupid thing, like, today's newspaper!!!

As for me, I went to Curves early, around 7 and was home a little after 8 and honey, I ain't going anywhere.  Of course I have a few projects at home that could use my attention, like wrapping presents, dusting, and hell, mopping the kitchen floor.  I mean, tonight we'll get not one but TWO football games -- I'm in heaven!!!

Lots of comedians have people they try to mimic.  I mimic my shadow!

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Cold Season

Ya, it never fails, this is the time of year when colds hit because we have this back and forth weather.  Rain, sunshine, slush (maybe white stuff), temps in the 30s, then the 40s and wham 60s...we dress inappropriately and catch cold -- hello people, it is November, the days of shorts and short sleeve tops are over -- a light jacket and hear gear is now necessary.

I know, I hate to wear a hat too but come on, we all know heat escapes via the head and we need to keep heat inside our bodies not allow it to escape. So don some silly ass hat, the goofier the better and wear it.  Everyone else will be, so you won't look totally stupid.

Hey, did you know turning up the tunes and dancing for 20 minutes is a great way to burn 104 calories and relax the body, and mind?  Sweet Mama, let's dance...but please, close the curtains first...thanks.


I know he doesn't look sick but poor little boy caught his first cold, runny nose and fever, and wham off to the doctor. Temp of 102 and an ear infection.

So while Mommy works today and Daddy attempts to fix the boiler and do some household chores, Grammy has her boy and we got the humidifier going full steam and he is currently napping and looking much better today too.


So, it is Saturday and this year, my son, who finally is able to go to deer camp after his rough last year experiences (Mayo Clinic for treatment of follicular lymphoma and then open heart surgery)-- has his son with him. This is a first for Alex and he is dressed just like Dad, orange hat and coat!  He won't get to shoot anything, too young, but he can sit in deer stands and learn how to be quiet and wait for the deer (this should prove interesting).  It's a great bonding experience and I know my son is loving every minute of this adventure.  Back home his wife and daughter are having a Mother/Daughter outing at the community center...wow....the fun just never stops, does it!!!



Hey, its gonna reach 60 degrees today, so why don't ya don a hat and jacket and get outside for a little while...that fresh air is the best thing in the world for all your ailments.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Earthquake

Okay, you felt it, right?  Oh come on, everyone is talking about the quake that hit our area around 1:40 this afternoon.  What?  You slept thru it?  Have no clue about this? Damn, wake Up!!!  You know this is gonna be the only thing talked about for the next few days, right?

Gotta tell ya, I have lived all over the place, stateside and overseas, and I have witnessed tornadoes, hurricanes and even earthquakes but I never in my life suspected one in my neck of the woods -- upstate NY are you kidding me???

Here I was, watching Wimbledon tennis matches, no big deal, got up to put the baby's bottle in the sink and suddenly it felt like the house was shaking or wait, was I having a stroke (not that I ever have had one or even know what in hell they feel like)?  I mean, this shaking wasn't just a quick little shake and done, nope, this shaking hung in there a few minutes[okay, 45 seconds but it seems like minutes].  It was a bit annoying and puzzling.  However my tennis matches were keeping me happy, so I had to rush to the computer and hit the local weather station to learn, yup we had a freaking earthquake.

Now the "scale" is incomplete -- most agree it was at least 5.0 but many are saying it 5.5.  And the center?  You ready for this? Ottawa -- that's just two hours from us -- wow. 

Now, we shall (so they say) have some after effects (what more quakes) and tonight we are to prepare for some major thunder-bumpers.  Look, as I understand it, Florida would love this freakin rain, can we direct it that way and have them send some of that heat our way?  I don't want it blistering hot but I would like to see the gardens flourish for a change!!!

Okay its "pasture bedtime" so I am outta here...have a good evening.

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Weekend

Here we are, May 8th and it should be warm, sunny and comfortable spring weather with a strong hint of summer in the air. But NO, we got temps hovering in the 40’s, rain, high winds and a chill that seeps into your bones and makes you feel a hundred years old (have no clue what that feels like or actually means, but cold bones ain’t pleasant and age has damn little to do with it).

To make matters worse our weather reports say this nasty stuff will continue throughout the day and tonight, oh yes tonight, the temps will drop even lower and guess what? You guessed didn’t ya –we could see that dreaded white stuff.

So what does all this really mean? It means we all put away our winter stuff way to early; i.e. snowshoes, snow blowers, shovels, snow tires, etc. Hell, we even mowed our yards, raked and in some cases, even planted a few things early in the hope they’d take root and grow faster. Oh ya, we be anxious for the warm stuff and home grown veggies (assume we don’t end up with some blight, disease or root rot like last year). And in some cases, we hauled out the patio furniture and started grilling too (I know some grill all year long but many have a kinda set schedule and grilling in snow ain’t exactly the most pleasant experience).

In the meantime, I have been to Florida – drove this year and came back with a lovely tan (first time I went and did not burn) and damn, it is slowly disappearing – now that is not fair! My newest grandson hit the six month mark and he also hit BIG in my book. This was the preemie who arrived at 5.5 lbs and now weighs in at 17.10 lbs and is 26.5 inches tall. What happened to that little boy? He is now crawling up a storm and this week decided not only can he crawl, but he can pull himself up too…however, he isn’t all that steady, so he falls a lot (which irks him, gets cry now and then and shortly resumes this act again and again).

On the brighter side our son had his latest Mayo Clinic check up and he texts me that “will call later, I am NED.” Now this has me totally stumped – what in hell does that mean? Did he mistype some work? Well, in due course I would learn this meant “no evidence discovered,” which in English came to mean: complete REMISSION! Talk about happy, everyone is happy for him and he’s got a huge smile on his face. Those damn tests are not fun but these results were fantastic!!!

So as Saturday continues to be wet, damp and chilly, hubby and I stopped at Lowe’s a bought some new blinds (the wooden type I will clean, not those plastic suckers). He now has a project for this afternoon and me, well, I will watch some TV and most likely have a chair nap!

BTW everyone have a lovely Mother’s Day Weekend and don’t forget to call Mom tomorrow, okay? Yes, life is good, we’re still on this side of the dirt and that counts for a lot, right?

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Just wondering

Ya, tell me you ain't thinking the same thing?

Where the hell is Spring?

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Brisk Out There




Yes, our weather has definitely made a slight turn toward cold and that wind will let you know, in a heartbeat, you need a freaking coat! The no-coat or sweatshirt days are over!





So, what's happening around and about? Do we really want to know? Hey, Maria Osmond is now 50 -- big deal. And I'm getting a tad weary of Jon and Kate -- ye gads.




I found an ole paper that listed things like "How You Can Tell When It's Going to Be a Rotten Day," which I thought I would share with you:

  • You wake up face down on the pavement.


  • You put your bra on backward and it fits better.


  • You want to put on the clothes you wore home from the party and there aren't any.


  • Your Twin sister forgot your birthday.


  • You put both contact lenses in the same eye *(ouch).


  • Your income tax check bounces

  • Your pet rock snaps at you (mind did and I tossed that sucker as far as I could)
Well, that's it for me on this lovely Tuesday. I may be heading out to Minnesota next week -- my son has been accepted in a clinical trial, at the Mayo Clinic -- however, my role is extremely pleasant, take care of the grand kids -- ya, that's a hard role. Whether needed or not, I would love to go visit and spend a little time with all of them before the cold weather months keep me strictly in this neck of the woods.

And regardless of what anyone else likes or dislikes, I happen to enjoy the winter months too. I love to snow shoe and just be outside in that crisp, fresh winter air. Ya, I know I am nuts -- I did not say I like being cold, I said I liked being out in the fresh air and dressed properly this is great.

I'm doing good with my weight loss program too...dropping a pound and gaining a pound, is that called maintenance or what? Screw it, I am mobile and losing inches, which means I am toning up and once these muscles get done, then the pound shall disappeared (or so they tell me). Bathroom scales lie so I don't give them much notice but when pant sizes drop, that I can believe...hurrah! Of course, one size in one store is not the same size in another store. I want to know who in hell is sizing women's clothes these days -- they are doing a lousy job!!!


Take care, keep smiling and more another day...

Friday, September 18, 2009

GOOD VISION IN A DOWNPOUR

How to achieve good vision while driving during a heavy downpour. We are not sure why it is so effective; just try this method when it rains heavily.

This method was told by a Police friend who had experienced and confirmed it. It is useful...even driving at night. Most of the motorists would turn on HIGH or FASTEST SPEED of the wipers during heavy downpour, yet the visibility in front of the windscreen is still bad...... In the event you face such a situation, just try your SUN GLASSES (any model will do), and miracle! All of a sudden, your visibility in front of your windscreen is perfectly clear, as if there is no rain.

Make sure you always have a pair of SUN GLASSES in your car, as you are not only helping yourself to drive safely with good vision, but also might save your friend's life by giving him this idea.

This even works in a blinding snow storm, you can even see the tracks of another vehicle long after it has been through.

Try it yourself and share it with your friends.

Okay, I am not saying this does or does not work. I wear transitional lenses and during daylight, sunglass effect is possible but not at night time. Hey, I just drove home in the freakin rain, I didn't notice any great visibility in front of me -- just rain and splash back from cars ahead of me.

Hey, friends send me this stuff and I post it -- not everything but some stuff and, well, you take what you read with a grain of salt, right? Where in hell did that expression come from anyway? Grain of salt? Screw that, I take my readings with beer!!!

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Fitness vs. Weather


Yes, I know, you are sick of this wet stuff and wonder what in hell happened to those summers when we actually had sunshine, warmth and wished for rain! Well, it ain’t happening so get over it and move on, ok?

A friend suggested I try the Wii Active program. Now, remember I have the Wii Fit program and was doing that during the cold weather but – well – the warmer weather was seeing me more outside and I just did not use this program on – plus I went on trips, etc. Ya, Ya, any excuse to justify why I quit is what you're thinking and you're right! Happy?


Now Wii Active is slightly different (it’s also cheaper) and this is – sorry folks—a kick ass workout! There is no other way to say or write that – it just flat out kicks ass! The 30-day workout program focuses on particular exercises and body parts on different days, while the intensity gradually increases as you get going.


The exercises themselves are grouped into four categories - cardio, upper body, lower body and sports. Players will almost always take part in running [the “guide” makes you want to slap her down as she reminds you run faster or set a good pace – hey, Sweetheart, if I could run, I would be jogging and not walking, hello – shin splints ----) and walking drills, which call upon the leg strap and Nunchuck, while there are also a number of stretches that tend to make an appearance more often than not.

I quickly discovered some exercises required a bit more space as I did the leg lunges and some other moves – holy sheet. This is the real motivator – “if done correctly, nearly all of the exercises feel like they are fighting the flab, and even on the lower intensity levels (that would be me), you’re almost always guaranteed to work up a sweat (sweat? Hell I am practically drowning). Hey, I really dig the kick boxing, that's really cool, thighs ached like hell the next day, but I'm gonna stick with this exercise -- it really is a hoot!


At first I was having issues with the leg strap -(oh the instructions are clear enough, goes around your right thigh, tighten to keep in place -- but damnit, as I moved, my thigh shrunk and the sucker fell off) - so I had to solve that issue, really tighten that sucker and it stays on -- leg turns blue but hey, it's only for 30 minutes! Then the Nunchunk - just another controller (silly name, eh)-- this sucker supposedly can only fit in the leg strap one way -- hello, I figured out three freakin ways and none worked -- well, one finally did and now I was golden. Like I said, a few issues!


So, I have FOUR exercise programs: Curves (which I really enjoy and feel has seen me drop inches), Walking, Wii Fit and now Wii Active. In addition I have stopped being a smartass and resumed keeping track (writing down) what I eat and staying with my allotted points – aka Weight Watchers.


Yes, of course I want to lose some of these pounds (or resume smoking, no, just kidding) but I also want to retain or gain even more flexibility - hey you know me, staying above ground is always a good goal -- one everyone can relate too, right?


So weather it rains, snows, is windy or sunny and dry, I will do my exercises and no more excuses (at least for this 30-day challenge or when I take off on some trip -- I looking at trip possibilities daily).


So that's my weather vs fitness story and I'm sticking to it. Now, what in hell is your excuse? Sure, go ahead, sit on your fat arse and complain about how much weight you have gained and how you can hardly move. Look, sheet for brains, you know how to walk, right? Get up and walk!!!



If you looked this good at 60 you’d be smiling too!

Saturday, June 13, 2009

Survivor

Okay, here's the latest update on the swine flu. If you get it and survive you will look like this --oh come on, you'll be alive, still cute and lovable, what more do you want? Forget being rich, you weren't rich before, so get over yourself!


So its Saturday and once again Mother Nature has made sure we get a damp weekend --damnit! My son called and wanted to know how to find Mama because he wanted to punch her lights out -- stand in line, Bubba, its a long friggin line!!!


Well, I managed to get my lawn cart which I have been trying to find for weeks. I didn't want anything fancy or difficult and after seeing my sister-in-law's cart, I said, "that's what I need." Here's a photo, whatcha think?Yes, its black, sorry it did not come with a color option but this is much easier for me to drag around or push, which ever works -- neat, eh?

So have you gone to Hackett's in Canton and enjoyed the 30% madness? I gotta tell ya, I went yesterday and it was like opening day, lots of folks in there and this time, they were buying stuff. Hey, I managed to find king size sheets, normally $50 for $20 so that was good, right? Now if they really want to impress me, knock down the price on those damn kayaks -- I'd really like to buy one but not at that price. If I'm gonna drown or soak my ass, I don't think it should cost me an arm or leg!!!

Hey, did manage to get my lawns mowed and as I trimmed those branches, no marks on my forehead from those suckers this go around...gotta tell ya, that hurt and definitely left a mark - ouch!!! This time it was the damn bugs that were driving me bonkers, so I pulled a trick my Daddy did -- bounce sheet attached to my baseball cap and I was golden.

Okay, have a great day, do whatever you can and hopefully that includes getting outside -- oh come on, a little rain ain't gonna hurt you or melt you...trust me, it hasn't melted me and I get outside alot.

Keep Smiling!!!

Saturday, May 30, 2009

Weather and Tips

When you walk out the door in the morning and see this in the sky......



go back inside, have another cup of coffee, and stay home. It's NOT going to be a good day.


Tip on retrieving something you drop down the sink Just watch..... It’s quick and useful! Good for jewlery! This is one of those tips you wish you had known about before you took the sink apart or called the plumber!!!!! It is a great tip and it saves money....how much better can it get?!


www.familyhack.com/2007/08/29/drain-tip

&&&&&&&

Yes it is Saturday morning, one more day and we can wrap up the month of May --- gee, what can we expect from June -- sunshine? Now that would be a shock, eh?

I noticed my flower garden is full of weeds, hell, the weeds are higher than the flowers and until it drys up, the weeds shall rule -- gotta love weeds...what choice do you have at the moment!!!

Another dreary day, thank goodness I got the French Tennis Open to watch -- or I'd truly be bonkers. Have a good day...keep smiling

Monday, April 27, 2009

Monday and 80 Degrees



Yes, it is Monday and don't blink, but the temp is supposedly headed toward 80 - hurrah!



So everyone who can will get outside, do more lawn work and for some, work on the garden, getting it ready at least, too early to plant.

As for me, I began the morning with going to Curves -- man I need that workout after a Florida vacation. Then I came home a decided the clear plastic mats in my car needed a good washing, so out they came and then small patio tables got scrubbed and hell, I was on a flippin roll. In between all this, Moose and I played Frisbee. I could not see him stuck in a house so he came to Grandma's and together we are busy, busy nut cases.



Planted sunflower seeds -- this outta be interesting, damn birds love these so what the hell, raise my own, right? In the meantime, my tulips are just about ready to pop open and once again, I'm shocked and pleased they have survived and so far the critters are staying away.



Well, time to get back outside -- I ain't gonna miss this sunshine or nice weather by hanging around in this bloody damn house. Take care and you know, keep smiling!

Monday, April 6, 2009

Wet Monday


Yes, it is Monday.

Yes it is raining.

Yes I am sick of this wet stuff too.

What you like this shit -- good for you Sunshine, you keep right on smiling -- idiot!

I'm sorry but I just can't get motivated this morning -- this dreary weather has even me in a funky mood,which is not good. So what I did was haul stuff out that I might or might not take to Florida. This also meant trying on things -- what fits, what does not and how bad does this or that look! I have to remind myself that I don't need to bring the entire closet, we are staying with our sister and she does have a washer and dryer...hurrah!

We're having a rather sicky feeling about this canoe trip. Seems you need to reserve the canoes ahead of time, which is fine. But that is no guarantee you will have a canoe when you show up! Hello, this doesn't sound like a reputable group to us. So, we are looking at other possibilities. We know we'll do the gambling cruise, that is a blast. We are in for deep sea fishing -- this will be fun and imagine, fresh fish for dinner ( pray we don't hook a marlin). And we'll definitely hit beaches so we can walk along them, splash about in the ocean and as I bought an underwater camera, I definitely plan to use it --- just gotta convince one of the sisters to come under with me and snap a few shots of me too!

Well, time for a nap -- nothing else to do and its the weather for naps!!

Saturday, April 4, 2009

WET STILL


Yes, of course it is April and that means “showers!” I get it don’t really understand it but I get it. What I don’t get is this idea that we need rain because our water levels are low!

When we get tons of snow and its stack as high as a small mountain, we still hear we need more rain because the water levels are low. Then we get less snow, blocks of ice and when all this melts again we hear we need rain because our water levels are low. What the hell does it take to make them high? And how high is high?

In the meantime, I am watching my flowers pushing through the ground and amazed that so far my tulips are making great progress and no critter has feasted on them. In the front I got tulips and other “things” pushing up but no idea what in hell they are because I failed to write down what I planted. Hell, even when they bloom I’m not sure I will be able to identify them…I’m such a flower Gardner!

So while all that is happening, I’m still messing with bird feeders and trying to attract cardinals. I even bought them their own feeder, one squirrels can’t use and it was anything but cheap. Ya, lots of luck but hey, never know, it might work. I just like seeing different birds show up for a meal. Not particularly happy with the damn squirrel that likes suet though – he really pigs out and I mean pigs out!

One day when it was nice, way too nice to stay inside, I did do a little lawn clean up. Meaning, I picked up branches, twigs and even cut some branches back because they would hit me on the head while mowing later on. I began raking in the front but that didn’t last very long, that is hard work and I have a big yard. Ya, I really should get more serious about this but so far that hasn’t happened. I think a rake behind the mower would be easier and not cause me back pain, whatcha think?

Oh well, just another week, then Easter and then, off to Florida – man, I am ready for the warm weather and this time of year is perfect for me. If I went in say July or August, I would suffer from their heat index…that’s way to hot for this puppy. But April is perfect and the water will be wonderful too. Now that big sister has informed us that while on the canoe trip we will NOT be in the water due to alligators, I’m really excited! Then her suggestion we go deep sea fishing; “hello, you do know how old we are, right? You honestly think us three ole ladies could haul in a Marlin!” On a less physical side, we plan to do the gambling cruise, snorkel and just plunk our fat asses on the beach and soak up the sunshine (that’s with tons of sunscreen on mind ya).

Well, you all have a lovely day, stay as dry as possible, do whatever ya gotta do, get a nap and if nothing else –keep smiling.


Pretty, huh?

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

WHAT THE HEEL?


Colonel Sanders pulled from river after 24 years

TOKYO - He was covered in mud when pulled from the river, and had lost both legs and hands, not to mention his glasses. But Colonel Sanders still had his trademark smile, 24 years later. [It’s a statute, did we really think someone wipe that smile off?]
A statue of the KFC mascot has been found in a river in Osaka, a city official said Wednesday, nearly a quarter century after being tossed in by crazed baseball fans who felt the image of restaurant founder Harland Sanders resembled a key team member.
"He was apparently found standing upright, which is fitting, because although he was a nice man he could also be very strict and demanding," said Sumeo Yokakawa, a spokeswoman at the chain's Tokyo headquarters.

Ernie Davis statue is back — without Nike cleats

SYRACUSE, N.Y. - Five months after it was removed to correct historic inaccuracies, a statue of former Syracuse University running back Ernie Davis is back on campus.
The permanent memorial to the first black Heisman Trophy recipient, created by sculptor Bruno Luchessi, was re-installed Tuesday morning.
The life-size statue depicts Davis, known as “The Elmira Express,” standing in his Syracuse uniform holding a helmet under his left arm and a football in his right hand. [now everyone can sleep better, aren’t you glad to learn this, thought so – watch that mouth!]

Amid salmonella fears, peanut butter sales drop
[Oh this one is brilliant, absolutely brilliant]

MILWAUKEE - The nation's consumers, worried about the widespread salmonella outbreak, continued to shy away from peanut butter in a recent four-week period, according to new sales numbers.
Americans bought 41.8 million pounds of jarred peanut butter in the four-week period ending Feb. 21 — 13.3 percent less than in the same period the previous year, research firm Nielsen reported Tuesday.
The period's sales were the lowest of any in the three years Nielsen has tracked the U.S. food, drug, and mass merchandisers segment, which includes Wal-Mart Stores Inc., the nation's largest retailer.

What they thought we were stupid? Give me a break – salmonella and you think we’d still not only buy peanut but consume it too? Damn, no wonder we got such issues…who in hell is looking at this stuff anyway – someone who has gotten rich and could careless what the product has or doesn’t have these days?

Chris Brown and Rihanna

Sweet Martha we got everyone advising these two clowns. But the most important thing they are saying is, “once a man hits you,he WILL hit you again.” The next thing is to remind her to take care of herself first and don’t sweat a damn thing about this woman beater. Personally I am sick of reading about this crap – if you want to send a message, send his ass to jail! I don’t care who you are, beat up a woman, get caught, do the time…what’s to discuss?


WEATHER TRICKS?

I know, we got this nasty little habit of saying "don't like the current weather, wait five minute and it will change," duh! But this recent up and down weather scene is truly amazing.

First I woke up to a downpour and it was bloody ass dark outside. Ya, I know we pushed the clocks forward and 7 it actually 6, but damn 7:30 was pretty damn dark too.

Then we hear that "sun may show this afternoon. However, we are in a flood watch and high wind advisory too. In addition, temps will fall and by tonight we may be in the teens." What the heel is going on around here! Don't ask -- it's just March.


I gotta tell ya, that wind is really whipping out there and I have all ready seen a few branches snap and fear the older trees may tip or fall too. Majestic oaks just can't withstand this much wind and cold weather -- and with all the damage done by weather and insects, these trees are major targets for a wood pile!

Sadly the school shooting has seen its latest scene in Germany. What in hell is going on with these kids? Each generation has its issues, its sense that adults are out of touch with today's world but damnit, we did not kill each other, blow up a school or harm innocent people. I just don't get it but then, neither does anyone else. You just don't know when sheet like this will happen and it happens from all sorts of economic backgrounds, not just the poor or down-trodden. Hells bells we got rich kids going bonkers too.

Okay your motivational tip of the day:

Life isn't fair, but it's still good.

Friday, February 6, 2009

Never Know





London: Heavy snow was moving south through Scotland and a second front threatened central England and Wales, as the UK's railways and airports suffered a third day of delays from the worst winter storm since 1991.

Only the Brits would have this much issue with snow, hell, they didn’t just delay flights, they bloody hell cancelled them and for what, a few inches of wet snow. But nobody knows how to shovel the stuff – and you wonder why we decided to form our own country – ye gads!!!




Below Zero: Okay, it’s damn cold and once that cold digs into your body, it takes a long damn time before you feel warm again. I went walking yesterday; it was a lovely – 4 degrees and yes, I took my mittens off to take photos but I was dressed warm, or so I thought. I caught a chill in my bones that just refuses to leave – no matter what I remain cold – sweet Martha this has gotta end soon.


Happy Friday! I’m off to Curves and I shall be back – who knows, now that I feel safe wearing those crampons, I may even take another walk! It’s not as cold today, only 10 degrees but it has been and I suspect shall continue to snow. And as my camera is almost always with me, I probably will take a few photos too but then again, cold hands don't make a happy camper.

More later…

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

WEATHER WARNINGS

Only snow shoe when the wind is calm or you could end up looking like this -- harder than hell to keep your balance but if you do manage, it's grand fun.


Oh come on, poking fun at yourself is good for the mind (anyone know where mine is?)


I get a kick out of the various names our weather personnel assign to our weather scenes and conditions. The latest, which I can’t recall seeing before is “hazardous winter storm warning.” This was the "warning" earlier on my computer and it changed quickly, gee why did that happen? They didn't think the word was proper? Holy sheet -- these weather folks have got way too much time on their hands to dream up blaring adjectives to describe our weather. Anyway, here's the latest storm warning:




A total snow accumulation of 8 to 12 inches is expected by late tonight. Snow will be heavy at times this afternoon and early this evening. The snow will taper off to snow showers after midnight tonight.A Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow means severe winter weather conditions are expected or occurring. Significant amounts of snow are forecast that will make travel dangerous. Only travel in an emergency. If you must travel... keep an extra flashlight... food... and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.



See, I told ya, there's nothing in this to justify "hazardous," right?

Hey, don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great they can advise us but a storm is a storm, right Forrest?
Oh here's a new one -- ready for this -- freezing snow fog! What the hell, are we having a bad hair day or what? Make up your mind, it's either freezing snow or fog but freezing fog, are you for real?

Yes, I was out in this snowy mess – only a short time tho…like that makes me smarter than the average bear! After completing my morning workout I headed home and after a small slip and slide as I got on Route 56, I slammed Ruby into part time 4-wheel drive and headed home. The roads are slick and as more snow comes down they'll get worse but slow down and pay attention and you'll do just fine. What is bad are those damn bumper-riders—tailgaters or whatever you wish to call those assholes that insist on riding your bumper. Ya, we all have to endure them and one of these days, someone is gonna stop, get out and head to their car and slap them silly and maybe then, they'll back OFF!


As I sit here and look out my front window this stuff is coming down with a major purpose in mind, what that purpose is I have no idea because we already have a covering of white so I guess, a deeper cover is the purpose. The story goes we should see 10 to 12 inches of more white stuff, ain’t that just special! I just got my snowshoe trail all packed down and now, well, sheet, I’ll have to start over – damn Mother Nature she can be rude as hell at times!


Well, you all stay warm and once this stuff stops, well, we’ll dig ourselves out and talk about how much white stuff fell and how we hope spring arrives early this year. Yes, this was a very entertaining blog today -- bite me --- oh hell, just smile and know life is good. Come on, we're above ground and breathing, that is GOOD!


I don’t need a calendar to know its winter. I can just ask one of the mice who moved in to warm up!
Amaryllis is done for now -- duh!

Monday, January 26, 2009

Weather-Boredom


Now this is a first in my book – or maybe my book needs to be returned to the library.

We got a winterstorm advisory that is gonna start Tuesday night and end sometime Wednesday. So what you say? Hello, this is friggin MONDAY! How about telling us what our weather will be like today, is that too much to ask or expect!

It is now around 3:30 pm and it is finally starting to snow, not much mind ya but snowing nonetheless. Light stuff at the moment but as the weather people have jumped days, who in hell knows what this means. Also, seems good ole St. Lawrence County lucked out yesterday as Watertown got slammed with 12 inches of snow and we got ZIP.

Look, I know folks don’t like snow or want much of it but come on, we had more snow last year and we ‘NEED’ snow. You want those rivers high and full in the summer, right? Well, we need snow to get them to that point – is this too hard a concept for you all to get? Good, so stop with the whining and bitching about snow!

Are all of you ready for the so called NEW TV programs? I gotta tell ya, I got cable and get probably a zillion channels but lately, TV has sucked big time and I really am sick of all the flippin reruns too. Why do we have to wait so damn long for the new shows? And some, the commercials make them look attractive, we will never see because some dipwad will cancel the show before any of us sane people ever see it.

Well, I gotta make a decision – fire up the Wii program and play a few fitness games, aka tennis, bowling, boxing or golf, OR bundle up a bit and head outside and don my snowshoes and make tracks in the snow? I am leaning toward snowshoes but I know I’m gonna want to do a lot of this tomorrow so Wii wins.


Ya, the last week in January and we can only hope the Feb sees us with better TV shows and what the hell, nicer weather too. Sunshine would be nice -- its that yellow thing in the sky in case you can't remember (no, stupid, look up for yellow, not down -- idiot).

Monday, December 15, 2008

Say what?

This is insane or perhaps all of us have gone bonkers but the temp today is – ready for this – 51 degrees. Oh no, here we go again, up and down temps that drive the birds nuts.

Oh come on, you remember – we’d have a few cold days, then wham a heat wave would roll in and even the trees started to bud and some flowers actually tried to pop up and then, back to cold weather and man, we did have some cold weather last year.

So we go from 4 below zero last week to 51 today – this is just ducky. Stuff is melting the wind is blowing like a banshee but it’s not all that chilly outside. However, don’t get to excited, it’s suppose to go into the 20s tonight and for the rest of the week we are in for snow, rain, and a mix of both….yuck!

Got up and head to Potsdam to do my Curves workout and man, did I feel like I needed to go today – after baking cookies all weekend and you know that means “tasting” cookies, right? Well, sheet, got there and the place is closed – what the hell? No sign, no indication of life and I said, screw it and came home. My workout then turned into moving stuff about in the kitchen so I could really scrub that floor – something about cooking making that gets a floor dirty – must be that damn flour!

While on this kick I scrubbed the front (guest) bathroom too. What the hell Monday is quickly becoming a cleaning day – holy Martha! Of course the washing machine is going full blast – and will most of the week as we prepare to depart for Minnesota. It never fails, regardless of what I wash, hubby always has something he wants to take and another load must be done!

Tell ya what, once things are dried and I get a shower, I think this would be a good day to finish up my holiday shopping. I am left with stock stuffers and then, some goodies for the trip – knock out pills seem like a good item. So you all have a lovely Monday and who knows I may be back with more bull before this day ends.

Friday, December 12, 2008

FREAKY FRIDAY

I had something else in mind when I started this blog but it went off to never-never land and who in hell knows when or if it shall return.


So, we got ourselves a nice white mess out there, don't we? I loved it when they (the weather people) said a "dusting" is expected overnight...then you get up, it's snowing like hell and we're in a winter advisory -- that's a dusting?


What makes this nasty is this is a mix of rain, snow and sleet and honey child,that makes for some damn slick roads and we got some who think they don't have to worry. Mommy and Daddy gave them a flippin Hummer and it can go anywhere. Ya, right into the ditch, dipstick, ice doesn't care what you drive, it rules -- face it, live with it and stop being a jerk!


I'm messing with a new photo program - new in that I haven't use it before, who knows how long its been around. Basically you can take negatives and/or slides, scan them on this cute device, download and then do whatever editing you feel is necessary. One thing I have learned as I was doing slides was, "clean them first!" Holy sheet, there's a lot of dust on slides that have sat in boxes or even slide trays for years.



Now this is quite a program and I'm driving my kids nuts sending them photos of them when they were really kids -- like 3 and 5 year olds. Talk about a hoot -- holy Mama. And I even included some of me and that is even funnier -- we sure had some weird hair styles and the glasses. I look like Bat Woman -- oh we were special.



Ya, I may bore you with photos -- okay, you talked me into it, here's one wood pile from my childhood - hey, this one was closer to the house so it was our favorite.

You did not think I'd include a photos of me when I was young, now did you? Shame on you for even having such strange thoughts!!!